“Mission is a free and conscious response to God's call”
Brief history of the Comboni Missionaries’ presence in South Africa.
A Pontifical Decree of the 12th of June 1923 established the Prefecture Apostolic of Lydenburg in what was then the Eastern Transvaal, an area which now includes parts of the provinces of Mpumalanga and Limpopo. In July 1923 the Holy See finalized the division of the Comboni Institute of the Sons of the Sacred Heart of Jesus (FSCJ). The German-speaking Institute was given the name of Missionaries Sons of the Sacred Heart (MFSC) and it was entrusted with the new Prefecture in South Africa. Until then the only ongoing pastoral work in the area of this Prefecture consisted of sporadic visits of travelling priests to local white Catholics who were mostly recent immigrants. This was the situation that the first German-speaking Comboni Missionaries coming from the Sudan found when they arrived in South Africa in 1924. The experienced missionaries who came to South Africa from Sudan were joined by others who were making their first missionary experience.